Think Back

As long as I can remember, reading has been a huge part of my life. When I graduated from pre-school, I actually received a “Bookworm” award. As a child, I enjoyed being read to as well as reading on my own. One of my most cherished memories growing up took place at the Scholastic book fairs we had at school. I was always excited to buy a new book! Some of my favorite books included: Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss (although I enjoyed many of his books, this is the one I can probably recite from memory), Superfudge by Judy Blume, Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White, The Wish Giver by Bill Brittain, A Light in the Attic and Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein. A few series that I read were: Scary Stories by Alvin Schwartz, Goosebumps and Fear Street by R.L. Stine, and Wayside School by Louis Sachar. Reading has, and always will be, a major part of my life. Today, many of my favorites include: anything by Stephen King, especially Misery and Night Shift, Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling, The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Myers, and The Lovely Bones by Alice Seabold.



3 Comments »

  1. Mary P. Hendrix Said:

    Alicia, I love the books you mentioned. I’m totally with you on Green Eggs and Ham!! A few hundred times of reading this one, and it sticks! I hope you find some new books to love this semester.

    Mary P. Hendrix

  2. mlbaxley76 Said:

    I loved the Harry Potter series too! I read somewhere that even if a child had never picked up a Harry Potter book, the series still would have made it on the bestseller’s list because so many adults read them. It made me feel a little less silly for wanting to read a “children’s” series! I have to admit that, had I read them when I was a young kid, some parts of the books (especially the last few) would have scared me a bit!

    • Alicia Said:

      Michelle, I totally agree! At first I thought that reading a child’s book was sort of “beneath me”. I just felt like if people knew I read a kid’s book they’d think that was the highest grade level I could understand, lol. But actually, her books have a lot of depth and sometimes I question just how much of a “kids” book Harry Potter can be, especially the last few books. If I read those as a kid, I’d probably be scared as well. They definitely take a dark turn!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

