“I” Poem

Opal’s Voice

I have a heart, but it’s empty

I wonder how long it will be so

I can almost hear my mother’s voice calling

I can almost see her arms wrapping around me tight

I want her back home

I have a heart, but it’s empty


I pretend that I am not so lonely

I feel like it’s all about to change

I touch Winn-Dixie’s face

I worry that Preacher won’t let me keep him

I cry

I have a heart, but it’s empty


I meet new people because of Winn-Dixie

I knew he was special

I understand now

I can’t hold on to something that wants to go

I still dream of mom coming back home

I will always think of her, from time to time

I have a heart, and it’s full… all the way up.

 


3 Comments »

  1. a24stu70 Said:

    I lke your “I Am” poem. You captured what Opal was feeling and I could visualize that through your ppoem.

    Anissa Parson

  2. I like your line; I can’t hold on to something that wants to go. Your poem follows Opal’s growth in the book from being left by her mother to finding something to love. She is not so lonely anymore.

  3. pritchardbk Said:

    I love your poem! It is so deep. I like how you go from saying, “I have a heart, but it’s empty,” to the last line, “I have a heart, and it’s full…all the way up.” I think this captures Opal perfectly.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

